Yousign

Think digital. Sign online.

2016-2019, Design, CSS
Yousign Cover

How many times have you ended up having to print out a document, sign it, scan it and send it back? Too many, no doubt. With Yousign, sign as many documents as you like with other people without wasting a single minute. And legally, of course.

Thoughts.

Taking over the design process.

First contact

May 2016. At the time, Yousign had been around for three years and was looking for a new service provider for its UI/UX design and integration needs. The start-up wanted to move their graphical charter, visual identity and digital product usability up a level. I met a young and dynamic team, led by Luc Pallavidino et Antoine Louiset. Let's go!

Overview upon arrival

Yousign put all its trust in me for this exciting assignment. I joined two friends already working there, including a front-end developer, Clement Le Biez. The project was simple: to develop a new, modern, user-friendly web application bursting with functionalities and pleasant to look at, in a scalable, maintainable and durable manner. Big fucking challenge!

We recommended that the company bring in Léa Coiffey, a friend of ours working as an artistic director, to cover the entire front-end stack and give us the best chance of success. We were ready.

The ongoing project first required an audit, to identify the changes to be made and establish a list of priorities. I will come back to the technical details a little later on in the case study. In a nutshell, the app was developed via Angular 1 with Bootstrap for dependent data. My goal was simple: to remove the Bootstrap dependency and implement our tailored design.

My role

My first task was to rethink the app’s user-friendliness using paper wireframes, models and prototypes. I then had to imagine how the design could be organised from a technical point of view. We chose to implement a living style guide in the application.

Yousign workflow
Process.

Front-end design and development.

Design

At the same time as the graphical charter was progressing, I started to search for user experience regarding the app’s main functionalities. Nothing was more powerful than paper wireframes to get a good head start and find a form of usability that I could dig into deeper and test. Using the Marvel App helped us better envisage what we wanted - with the creation of prototypes based on paper wireframes.

Yousign wireframing

I started working in close collaboration with Léa for the software transfer. We combined our respective tasks, i.e. the charter UI with the UX. To do so, I based all my work on Adobe Experience Design, which enabled us to turn our models into clickable prototypes using just one type of software. Elements were cut-out using the software’s symbols, to prepare for integration.

Below is the prototype of the high fidelity mockups made with Adobe Xd. Click anywhere on the wireframe to interact with this prototype:

The application being responsive, the interface is designed in a mobile-first way. Here is some mobile wireframes:

Yousign wireframing Mobile

Integration: positioning

The design work done on the components already made it possible to iterate with front-end developers. We agreed on the cut-out and which attributes would be used as drivers. For instance, for the ui-button component, an attribute color existed, so the right styles could be attributed. The living style guide helped document our ui-components within the project. We got into the habit of doing style guide driven development. The purpose of this was that each of our components had usage documents enabling developers to build HTML pages quickly. This living style guide also contained information pertaining to the graphical charter, such as colours, fonts, icons and project identity. For further information on this method, read the article “Between design and development“ (french).

Yousign design UI Components

We are currently working on several products requiring the same charter and using the same ui-components. The living style guide evolved accordingly into an external design-system, making it possible to share design resources. This design-system also hosts overall front-end processes. These include code organisation, architecture, tools and good practices/common conventions. Yousign’s main products to date are the web application, the website and the design-system.

Yousign design-system

The design-system’s code basis revolves around the architecture ITCSS

  • Logo Angular
  • Logo Sass
  • Logo InuitCSS
  • Logo Git
  • Logo Webpack
  • Logo Wordpress
Brief technical overview
  • Angular 1, Typescript
  • Sass, InuitCSS, ITCSS
  • Webpack
  • Git
  • Wordpress, ACF, Custom Theme
Retrospective.

Feedback and lessons learnt.

What I learnt

Implementing a design-system and ensuring its maintenance taught me to apprehend collaboration with several different people. It also taught me to manage resource sharing between several projects. Improving understanding between designers and developers was one of my core concerns. The design-system is an extremely powerful tool used to improve relations between employees on a daily basis.

Next step

The design-system is constantly evolving and is now a product in itself. Future changes will be focused on overall technical process documentation, to make the inclusion of new people in the team easier.

SVG illustrations done by Léa Coiffey - Artistic Director @Yousignfr.Browse through the yousign.com website

→ Browse through the yousign.com website

contact

Kevin Bizien

Product Designer
Design System Jedi

Want to tell me about your design project? Contact me at bonjour@kevinbizien.com and we can start talking soon!

Yousign

Think digital. Sign online.

2016-now, Design, CSS
Yousign Cover

Combien de fois vous êtes vous retrouvé à devoir imprimer un document, le signer, le scanner puis le renvoyer ? Trop sans doute. Avec Yousign, signer autant de documents avec les personnes que vous souhaitez sans perdre une minute. Et tout cela de manière légale.

Réflexion.

Reprise en main du design.

Wireframe Yousign

Prise de contact

Mai 2016. Yousign va sur ces trois ans d'existance, et recherche un nouveau prestataire pour ses besoins en design UI/UX et intégration. La start-up souhaite passer un cap en terme de charte graphique, personnalité visuelle et utilisabilité de ses produits digitaux. Je rencontre une équipe jeune et dynamique, dirigée par Luc Pallavidino et Antoine Louiset. Let's go!

État des lieux

Yousign m'octroie toute sa confiance quant à cette mission excitante. Je rejoins deux amis déjà en poste à ce moment, dont un développeur front Clement Le Biez. Le projet est simple : développer une nouvelle application web, moderne, ergonomique, riche en fonctionnalités, esthétique, et tout cela de façon scalable et maintenable sur le long terme. Big fucking challenge!

Nous recommandons d'inclure dans la boucle une amie directrice artistique, Léa Coiffey, afin de couvrir toute la stack front et mettre toutes les chances de notre côté. On était prêt.

Le projet en cours nécessita un petit audit pour détecter les choses à modifier et prioriser les tâches. Je reviendrai plus loin dans cette étude de cas sur les détails techniques. De manière succincte, l'app était développée en Angular 1 avec Bootstrap en dépendance. L'objectif était simple : supprimer la dépendance Bootstrap et implémenter notre design conçu sur-mesure.

Mon rôle

Ma première tâche fût de repenser l'ergonomie de l'app au travers de wireframes papier, maquettes et prototypes. Puis d'imaginer l'organisation du design d'un point de vue technique. Notre choix se porta sur la mise en place d'un living styleguide dans l'application.

Yousign workflow
Process.

Conception et développement front.

Yousign process

Design

En parallèle de l'avancée de la charte graphique, j'ai commencé par des recherches d'expérience utilisateur pour les fonctionnalités principales de l'application. Rien de plus puissant que les wireframes papier pour dégrossir et trouver une ergonomie à creuser et tester. L'utilisation de Marvel App a permis de nous projeter avec la création de prototypes découlant des wireframes papier.

Yousign wireframing

Je travaille en étroite collaboration avec Léa pour le passage sur logiciel. Nous joignons nos travaux repectifs à savoir la charte/UI avec l'UX. J'ai pour cela basé tout le travail sur le logiciel Adobe experience design, qui nous permet via le même logiciel de transformer nos maquettes en prototypes cliquables. Les éléments sont découpés via les symboles du logiciel pour préparer le travail d'intégration.

Intégration : mise en place

Le travail de design des composants permet déjà d'itérer avec les développeurs front-end. Nous nous mettons d'accord sur le découpage et quels seront les attributs permettant de les piloter. Par exemple pour le composant ui-button un attribut color existe afin d'attribuer les bons styles. Le living styleguide permet de documenter nos ui-composants au sein même du projet. Nous avons pris l'habitude de faire du style guide driven development. L'intérêt repose sur le fait que chacun de nos composants dispose d'une documentation d'utilisation permettant aux développeurs de monter des pages HTML rapidement. Ce living styleguide contient également les informations relatives à la charte graphique telles que les couleurs, fonts, icones et l'identité du projet. Pour plus d'informations sur cette méthode de travail, retrouvez l'article Entre design et développement.

Yousign design UI Components

Nous travaillons aujourd'hui sur plusieurs produits nécessitant la même charte et utilisant les mêmes ui-composants. Le living styleguide a pour cela évolué en un design-system externe permettant de partager les ressources design. Ce design-system héberge également les process front globaux. À savoir l'organisation du code, l'architecture, les outils et bonnes pratiques/conventions utilisés. Les produits principaux à ce jour chez Yousign sont l'application web, le site web et le design-system.

Yousign design-system

La base de code du design-system s'organise avec l'architecture ITCSS.

  • Logo Angular
  • Logo Sass
  • Logo InuitCSS
  • Logo Git
  • Logo Webpack
  • Logo Wordpress
Rapide revue technique
  • Angular 1, Typescript
  • Sass, InuitCSS, ITCSS
  • Webpack
  • Git
  • Wordpress, ACF, Custom Thème
Retrospective.

Retour et leçons apprises

Yousign Retrospective

Ce que j'ai appris

La mise en place d'un design-system et sa maintenance m'a permis d'appréhender la collaboration avec plusieurs profils différents. Mais également la gestion du partage de ressources parmi plusieurs projets. Améliorer la compréhension entre designers et développeurs reste au cœur de mes préoccupations. Le design-system est un outil très puissant pour améliorer les relations entre collaborateurs au quotidien.

Suite

Le design-system évolue constamment et est maintenant un produit à part entière. Les prochaines évolutions porteront sur la documentation globale des process techniques afin de faciliter l'intégration de nouvelles personnes dans l'équipe.

Illustrations svg réalisées par Léa Coiffey - Directrice Artistique @Yousignfr.

→ Consulter le site yousign.com